I’m Trusting the Process

I’m learning that I write-type whenever I have strong feelings that I cannot comprehend. The last time I wrote a blogpost was when I turned thirty! Thirty! The day of my thirtieth birthday was marked with anxiousness, a large pinch of fear and heaping spoonful of worry. In my post, I rambled a bit about all these things and of course created a new blog… It’s been almost five months since that day and I have yet to write another post. In a way, I guess I should feel relieved as it’s been…well almost normal (besides adjusting to life in a pandemic). Side note, I can’t even remember my new blog…hence why I’m taking over The Marbled Cake Stand. It will now be a personal blog with intermittent food-recipe posts. The later more common in the summer where there’s always an abundance in free time and hobby-ing.

Bringing it back to today’s post, while it’s not my story to share, I heard some unexpected and sad news today. My Master’s advisor would recommend, “story-ing” it in order to work through my thinking and feelings. It’s a part of the process and with trust, it’ll eventually make sense. It can be neatly summarized with the common saying, “everything happens for a reason.” A recent book I read, Braving the Wilderness by Brene Brown encourages us to “feel the feelings.” Only when we recognize and honour these feelings do we work through them and recover. I love it.

So here I am, feeling sad and heartbroken for my friend. Wishing with all my might that I could erase the pain, shock, anger they must be feeling. Here is to trusting that time heals and when you’re ready, hope will be waiting.

As your friend, I love you and am here for you whenever you’re ready to chat, hug, or just sit together in silence.

Leave a comment